Competition Rules

2013 Wagner Award Competition Rules

The National Association of Active Investment Managers (NAAIM) sponsors the Wagner Award annually to seek out papers of academic quality that cover an innovative topic in the area of active investing. The following rules govern the submission, judging, ownership and awarding of the papers.

1. All decisions of the Wagner Award committee are final. Any occurrence that arises that is not covered in these rules will be adjudicated by the Wagner Award committee.

2. Prizes awarded will be $10,000 for first place, $3,000 for second place and $1,000 for third place. In the event papers of sufficient quality are not submitted to justify the awarding of all three prizes, the Wagner Award committee reserves the right to eliminate any or all of the prize levels.

3. Papers will be judged by a panel selected by the Wagner Award committee. The prime criteria used in judging the papers are: a. Practical significance to practitioners of active investing; b. Quality of exposition (including proper submission, paper length, abstract length, etc.); c. Analytical rigor; and d. Novelty of results or uniqueness. Papers will also be judged on references to back-testing (if appropriate), statistical significance (if needed), and technical significance.

4. Papers should be submitted electronically in PDF format to and the subject line should indicate “2013 Paper Submission.” Please send two separate copies of the completed paper 1) without the author’s name and 2) with the author’s name.

5. Papers should be 30 pages or less and include a separate required 750-1000 word abstract. Papers should be double spaced with a minimum font size of 14 and filed prior to the deadline.

6. By virtue of submission, the author certifies that the manuscript is not copyrighted, has not been previously published elsewhere, consents to NAAIM’s non-exclusive use and publication of the paper and abstract, and agrees to be bound by the rules set forth herein.

7. Delivery of papers to NAAIM is the sole responsibility of the participants. Therefore, it is encouraged that they complete an “Intent to Submit” form that will allow NAAIM to contact them, if needed.

NAAIM will attempt to do so if the situation arises, such as a change to the competition, clarification of the rules, in the event that their paper does not arrive by the deadline at NAAIM headquarters to the specified email address, etc. An email confirmation of receipt of the paper will be sent by NAAIM within three days of submission. It is author’s responsibility to contact NAAIM at prior to February 28, 2013 in the event a confirmation is not received by the author in the 3-day time period.

8. Papers are due at NAAIM on or before midnight on February 28, 2013.

9. The winners will be notified on or before March 31, 2013 and announced at the annual Uncommon Knowledge annual meeting April 28 – May 1, 2013.

10. The author of the winning paper will be invited to make a presentation at the annual NAAIM Uncommon Knowledge conference. It will be held in Denver, Colorado at The Westin Denver Downtown. Expenses of domestic coach airfare and up to 3 nights lodging at the conference hotel, excluding incidental costs, will be provided by NAAIM.

Download the 2013 Wagner Award Competition Rules

Be the first to start a conversation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: